Charts

Access your charts from the Lexchart Charts page. Learn how to use search, sort, and filter to find your charts. See how to start a new chart.

8 months ago   •   3 min read

By The Lexchart Team
Lexchart Charts page
Table of contents

The charts page is where you access all of your charts. From the homepage you can manage the status of your charts and access your account details.

There are three major areas on the charts page:

  • action buttons,
  • organizer, and
  • charts.

Action buttons

There are two action buttons available on the charts page: account and help.

Account

Your name and account information appear in the upper left. You may receive account status messages below your name.

The account button provides access to your account page and allows you to sign out of Lexchart. Lexchart will log out after a period of inactivity.

Help

The help button gives you access to tutorials and documentation.

Organizer

Charts Page with Private, Shared, Invited, and Removed Charts
Charts Page with Private, Shared, Invited, and Removed Charts

The Organizer is the side panel on desktop or the top panel on mobile. The organizer changes the charts which are visible. There are five classes of charts: private, shared, invited, removed, and public.

A Private chart is a chart which you have created and control exclusively.

A Shared chart is a chart to which more than one user has access. This might be a chart which you have shared with someone else or a chart someone has shared with you. More detail on shared charts is available in Key Concepts.

When another Lexchart user shares a chart with you, that chart is classified as Invited. You have the opportunity to accept or decline the shared chart. Decline the invitation to remove it from your charts; accept it to show the chart as Shared. The person who shared the chart will not know what you decided to do with the invitation. More detail on invited charts is below.

Removed charts will be deleted after thirty days in most cases. You can force delete removed charts.

The Lexchart Team periodically publishes Public charts, which is a chart you can inspect or copy as a private chart.

Charts

The Charts area of your Home displays all your charts. Below we explain the details about the chart summary displayed here.

From the charts area you start a new chart with the New Chart button. The Sort button lets you sort in ascending or descending order by date, chart name, or chart creator.

The available buttons for each chart depend on a variety of factors.

Private

Your private charts have the following options:

  • Select the chart name to open the chart in the Viewer,
  • Edit opens the chart in the Designer,
  • Copy makes a copy of the chart and opens the copy in the Designer, and
  • Remove marks the chart for deletion.

Shared

There are two types of Shared charts in this group. First, any chart you own which you have shared with other users will have a shared tag.

Second, Invited chart which you have accepted from other users will have the shared tag. Depending on your access credentials to the Invited chart, you will have one or more of the following options:

  • Select the chart name to open the chart in the Viewer,
  • Edit,
  • Copy, and
  • Remove.

When you remove an Invited chart, you remove from your collection of charts. Remove does not delete the chart for the owner.

Invited

When another user shares a chart with you, the chart appears with a dashed border and an 'Invited' tag in your charts. These are Invited charts. You have two options:

  • Accept will add the chart to your Shared charts, and
  • Decline will mark the chart as Removed.

Chart owners set the access rights of other users when a chart is shared. Access rights are:

  • Viewer (read only),
  • Editor, and
  • Co-Owner.

A user who is a Viewer of a chart can access the chart on in the View mode. An Editor may access the chart in the Designer. An editor can make changes to the chart. An editor cannot share the chart with other users.

A Co-owner as full privileges to the chart. A Co-owner has access to sharing settings.

Removed

Removed charts have two options: Restore and Delete.

Restore will move the chart back as a private, shared, or invited chart.

Delete will immediately and permanently delete the chart.



Spread the word

Keep reading

public